Hudson River

Publié le par Tristan & Vanina

As I told you in the first article, we’re living in Tarrytown. It is a small city in the north of New York City. I’ll write an article about Tarrytown in some days, I didn't have yet the time to visit all the city. But now I’ll write about the Hudson River. The Hudson River (fleuve) is 507 km in lenght and Tarrytown is at its edge. Let’s see the river on a map and Tarrytown at the edge of the Hudson River on an other map :

Hudsonmaptarrytown


Do you remember of the Hudson ? It is the henceforth famous river on which a plane almost crashed some months ago ! Here is a picture :

avion

The name of the river results from Henry Hudson, an Englishman sailing for the Dutch East India Compagny, who investigated the river in 1609. Here’s a picture of this guy :

ahenryhudson

The official spring of Hudson River is the lake « Tear of the Clouds » (literally in french : "Larme des Nuages"), in mounts Adirondacks. Take a look of this beautiful lake :

Tears of the clouds


The mouth (the end) of the river is situated in New York City. By entering the city it separate in "Narrows". The Narrows are small rivers which separate Brooklyn, Long Island and Staten Island. Here is a satellit picture of those Narrows :

anarrows.jpg


Before ending, you’ve to know that at EF campus we have a really great panorama on the balcony of the mens bathroom at the sixth floor in my building. But I cannot go on it for safety reasons. So I tried to take some pictures of the Tappan Zee Bridge on the Hudson River trough the window:

DSC00034.JPG

IMG 0903

 

Finally, two more pictures of the Tappan Zee Bridge. I took them from the train:

IMG 0983

IMG 0984


Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
F
<br /> Hey Tristan,<br /> <br /> I've read all of your posts so far, and New York looks amazing! I wish I could be there for Thanksgiving, but my family from Arizona is visiting, and unfortunately, I'm obliged to stay here and<br /> celebrate with them.<br /> <br /> As for the Dec. 18th, I'm sure I'll be able to pick you up at the airport after work so don't worry about it. I'll keep you updated on the Christmas plans as well. You should know that the house my<br /> family is living in right now is quite small. If you stay with us, you can share my room with Vanina though, so it's nothing to worry about, and we'll probably all stay at my Uncles house in<br /> Berkeley for Christmas.<br /> <br /> As for going to Las Vegas, I just bought a new car, and would be happy to drive to LA and party with you for a few days but I can only take so many days off of work.<br /> <br /> Thanks for the concern over my ex-girlfriend. All I can say is that life goes on.<br /> <br /> And watch out for salesman out there! Don't be a sucker.<br /> <br /> I'll call you if anything changes, and don't hesitate to call me if you need anything!<br /> <br /> Fred Heath<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
F
<br /> New York! I can't believe you two are already in the States! I just realized that you'd decided to start a blog, and I'm impressed with what I've seen! It was a great idea to document the trip.<br /> Your English is better than ever, and the pictures are great. How are the classes at the New York Campus? I wish I could be there, and I'm glad all your plans have come to fruition.<br /> <br /> Can't wait to see you in California!<br /> <br /> Fred Heath<br /> <br /> P.s. Now that you're in the states, you can call me at 415.847.5247 if you wanna talk, need help with homework or anything.<br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre
T
<br /> <br /> Hi Buddy!!!<br /> <br /> <br /> It's nice to know that you came on my blog! Did you read only the article about Hudson River or all the articles on the 2 pages?<br /> <br /> <br /> Thank you for complimenting me about my English!!<br /> <br /> <br /> My classes are really good, I have an intermediate level and I think that I'll improve my english a lot.<br /> <br /> <br /> I wish you could be there too my pal !! If you've the time come here for thanksgiving, my parents will be there! But I think that you'll be at home with your family...<br /> <br /> <br /> Don't forget Fred, I arrive at december 18th at San Francisco International Airport.<br /> <br /> <br /> Here's all you've to know to find me:<br /> <br /> <br /> Arrive: 10.37 pm, Terminal 3, United airlines 19<br /> <br /> <br /> If there will be any change, I'll contact you.<br /> <br /> <br /> And if you cannot meet me at the airport, please let me know as soon as possible. I have no transfer to my host family you know... So I'll try to know the way with an itinerary on google maps.<br /> <br /> <br /> I'm so delighted to Christmas Eve in Berkeley to Uncle Freds House! Let me know if there is any change in the plans, for example if you celebrate Christmas somewhere else, because I have no<br /> idea of the place where I could celebrate Christmas. Vanina and me would be very happy to be with you and your family.<br /> <br /> <br /> And remember buddy. We leave San Francisco on december 27th for 6 days. Three days in L.A and three days in Las Vegas for New Years Eve! You can come with us, but I already booked a car in<br /> Berkeley and the car is only for 5 people, and we are 5 people (me, vanina, romain, justine and lucien)... So if you want to come with us, let me know and I'll try to change my reservation for a<br /> bigger car... but nothing is sure. The best solution should be that you rent an other car for you and some friends, all right?<br /> <br /> <br /> Some weeks ago I saw on facebook that you broke with your girlfriend... I'm so sorry about that... I hope that you feel good my friend.<br /> <br /> <br /> Thank you for your phone number... Here is my american number 646 206 23 52. I cannot call you because I haven't lots of balance, actually it's pretty expensive, and I had a really bad story when<br /> I bought my sim card... I paid 136 dollars for the sim card and 100 $ of balance... but in fact there was only 9 $ of balance! I hate those fucking salesmen in the electronics stores of Times<br /> Square! They are fucking swindlers. Tea bag me fucking salesmen!! Don't hesitate to contact me, but I won't contact you really often... too much expensive sorry buddy...<br /> <br /> <br /> All right Fred. Again thank you so much for visiting my blog.<br /> <br /> <br /> Tristan.<br /> <br /> <br />  <br /> <br /> <br /> <br />